KOREAN BLACK EYES Korean girl band 3 Portuguese 7 inch 45s from the early 1970s

     

KOREAN BLACK EYES I don’t know how to love him/All dressed up and nowhere to go 7 inch Vinyl 45 (Portugal) Vitoria V SOS 1001 (circ. early 70s release. Hard to find detailed information about this group.)
Link to my more detailed submission on the 45cat discography page for this record (pending)
Collectors notes: Rare. Not easy to find.
Mic’s collection status: I have this record. (My copy is near mint – I will make a clean recording of these tracks when possible.)

     

KOREAN BLACK EYES The world is a mess/Nigths (sic) in white satin 7 inch Vinyl 45 (Portugal) Vitoria (Circ. 1972-74? The World is a Mess is a cover of the Donna Hightower song. US soul/jazz singer Hightower had connections in Spain, and it’s interesting to see Korean musicians covering black US music in the early 1970s. Flip is a nice cover of the Moody Blues song.) (Apparently – one of the band members now lives in Melbourne, Australia. Interested in any further info about this group.)
Link to my more detailed submission on the 45cat discography page for this record (pending)
Collectors notes: Rare. Not easy to find. 
Mic’s collection status: I have this record. (My copy is near mint – I will make a clean recording of these tracks when possible.)

       

KOREAN BLACK EYES Higher/Burning love/Who’s making love/Boo booly boo 7 inch Vinyl 45 EP(Portugal) Vitoria VEP 0011
(Circ. 1972 to 1974?  – 7 inch Portuguese pressing with cover versions of an interesting selection of late 60s/early 70s songs. The Elvis cover you can hear for yourself, as well as the Sly & Family Stone cover via the link provided. Interesting to have a cover of the 1968 Johnny Taylor song ‘Who’s making love’ on the EP, which was originally issued on the Stax label. This single is historically interesting for no  reason other than the fact that there is a Korean girl band based in Portugal in the early 70s doing covers of earlier soul and funk tracks. Cool !)
Link to my more detailed submission on the 45cat discography page for this record (pending)
Collectors notes: Please note – this single has been listed on discographies with the Cat number 001 which is incorrect. The actual cat. number is VEP 0011.
For some time these 3 singles surfaced only periodically, maybe 1 a year or 2 a year, then recently as the prices have risen above $US100 each a number have come up for sale in a short space of time. Auctions show the highest price at $135 however a number have also sold set sale for $100+ each which don’t get recorded on most auction tracking sites. Regardless, I doubt that more than a few hundred copies of each were ever pressed, and there are likely only to be a very limited number still in circulation these days, with only a fraction of these being in top condition.
Mic’s collection status: I have this record. (My copy is near mint. See link below for a cleaner recording than the one above.)

I’ve stored mp3s with clear sound of both Burning Love and Higher here. Higher is worth a listen … probably the first time ever Koreans have recorded this style of music!

Creative Commons Licence Korean vinyl records – 한국 레코드판 by Michael Dover is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.Based on a work at https://koreanvinyl.wordpress.com/.Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://koreanvinyl.wordpress.com/.
About Mic Dover

Lives in Australia. Previously lived in South Korea. Married.
This entry was posted in Korean music on 7 inch vinyl singles, Korean music on US/UK/European pressings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to KOREAN BLACK EYES Korean girl band 3 Portuguese 7 inch 45s from the early 1970s

  1. Marco says:

    Hi

    I have a copy of This World Is A Mess. Can you tell me more of this band?
    Do you think it’s possible to gather the 3 singles on a LP reissue?

    I’m trying to contact the label who release them.

    • Hi Marco – I really don’t know anything about this band despite searching on the net quite a bit. I read somewhere that one of the members now lives in Melbourne, Australia.
      Please keep me informed about any contact you make with the label. I’d be interested in a re-issue LP and I’m sure many shops in Seoul would be interested.

      • Hana Kim says:

        I’m not sure if this blog is still maintained, but my mum is the sax player in the band. And yes, we live in Melbourne 🙂

        Was there any follow up on making contact with the Label? I actually stumbled across here trying to source old records for my mum so any information you may have would be great!

        Feel free to get in touch with me via email.

Leave a Reply

